Cheverus Stags Spring Athletes of the Year

FRANK MORANG, Senior – Track

  • New England Champion, Long Jump
  • Class A State Champion, Long Jump
  • Class A State Champion, Triple Jump
  • SMAA All-Star, First Team, Long Jump
  • All-star SMAA, first team, triple jump
  • SMAA All-Star, Third Team, 100
  • Captain

Morang continued a transcendent indoor season by rising to the top of the pack in Class A this spring, winning two state titles and retiring in style.

Morang made an immediate impact as a rookie, placing third in the state Indoor Class A competition in the long jump, as well as third in the triple jump and fourth in the outdoor long jump. As a sophomore, Morang was a runner-up in both indoor jump events, then lost his second outdoor season and had an abbreviated, postseason-free junior indoor campaign due to COVID. He came back with a vengeance last spring, winning the Class A long jump and triple jump, then he captured the long jump and was a February indoor triple jump runner-up (when he was named an athlete of the year by Cheverus) .

This spring, Morang, captain for two years, continued to dominate and was at his best in the biggest competitions.

Prior to the season, Morang laid out his goals in an interview with the Portland Press Herald.

“I would like to be more consistent,” Morang said. “It’s important to be consistent and I was last year. I would like to go back to jumping 23 (feet) in the long jump and triple jump, to break 45.”

Morang set personal and school records in the long jump (23 feet, 8 inches) and 100 meters (10.83 seconds). He already holds the school mark in the triple jump (43-9.75). Morang won the Class A state title in the long jump (22-10.25) and triple jump (43-3.25) and was second in the 100m (11.16). Then, if that wasn’t impressive enough, he won the long jump in the New England Championship tie (23-5.5).

Morang plans to compete on the track next year at Brown University in Providence, Rhode Island.

Frank Morang, Cheverus’ Spring Athlete of the Year, etched his name into Cheverus’ legacy of athletic excellence. His exploits will be hailed for many years to come.

Commentary by Coach John Wilkinson“Frank led by example, which was a combination of daily training effort, quiet leadership and performance in major competitions. He had an outstanding senior season. He was highly regarded and admired by his teammates. “He made everyone around him a better athlete. He will be missed next year. I look forward to seeing great things from him over the next four years.”

Previous winners:

• 2021 Sam Clark (baseball)
* 2020 No season
• 2019 Jack Mullen (baseball)
• 2018 Griffin Watson (baseball)
• 2017 Jared Brooks (baseball)
• 2016 Frank Curran (lacrosse)
• 2015 Jake Dixon (track)
• 2014 Isaac Yeobah (track)
• 2013 Thomas Lawson (lacrosse)
• 2012 Louie DiStasio (baseball)
• 2011 Nic Lops (baseball)
• 2010 Jack Terwilliger (track)
• 2009 Mick DiStasio (baseball)
• 2008 Topher Pochebit (lacrosse)
• 2007 Todd Keneborus (baseball)
• 2006 Michael Antoniou (lacrosse)
• 2005 Ben Michaud (track)
• 2004 Ben Michaud (track)

RILEY O’MARA, senior – lacrosse

  • SMAA All-Star, First Team
  • Captain

Simply put, O’Mara was on the shortlist of the best women’s lacrosse players in the state and not only did she lead Cheverus to an impressive rebounding season, but she paved the way for even more accomplishments on the lacrosse. road.

O’Mara, an offense, who also took a lot of draws, made the SMAA All-Rookie team as a rookie and then, after missing his second campaign due to COVID, captained team as junior and senior.

Not only that, she has scored goals with abandon, 48 in 2021 and 74 this spring. O’Mara also had 35 assists this year alone and had 91 draw checks as a junior and 86 this season.

The Stags have only won twice in 2021 but roared this spring, going 8-4 in the regular season and then winning at Oxford Hills (14-10) in the Class A North quarter-finals before retiring with a 20-10 defeat at Yarmouth in the semi-finals.

Highlights included four goals in a season-opening loss to Marshwood, five goals in a win at Gorham, five goals in an overtime loss to Windham, six goals and an assist in the playoff win at Oxford Hills and three goals, two assists and 13 ground runs in the playoff loss to Yarmouth.

O’Mara plans to play lacrosse at Bryant University in Smithfield, Rhode Island, a Division I program, next year.

Riley O’Mara, Cheverus’ Spring Athlete of the Year, did whatever it took to make his team successful and left teammates and foes alike with his skills.

Commentary by Coach Sarah Varney“Riley has had an incredible impact on the lacrosse program at Cheverus. Expectations and level of play have been raised due to his elite level. She is an extremely humble player who is loved by her teammates because she always wants the best for them. She takes the time to explain lacrosse knowledge on and off the field, prepares her teammates for success and always fills them with confidence. Riley is unstoppable on draw controls, she has worked tirelessly on her ability to control the ball with one hand on her stick. It’s a skill that sets her apart from her high school peers. With one hand on her stick, she’ll intercept passes, snatch balls in the air on the draw, and single-handedly shoot balls from a ground scrum and dash down the field. She earned her nickname, “Rip it Riley” due to the way she dodges and dances around her opponents and constantly rips her shots into the back of the net. Riley will be sorely missed next year and we are so grateful for his commitment to helping define what it means to play lacrosse at Cheverus. We look forward to seeing her continue to play Division 1 lacrosse.”

Previous winners:

• 2021 Victoria Bossong (track)
* 2020 No season
• 2019 Zoé Mazur (crosse)
• 2018 Victoria Bossong (track)
• 2017 Emma Gallant (track)
• 2016 Emily Turner (track)
• 2015 Abby Biegel (lacrosse)
• 2014 Brittany Bell (softball)
• 2013 Alex Logan (lacrosse)
• 2012 Meredith Willard (lacrosse)
• 2011 Paige Lucas (lacrosse)
• 2010 Theresa Hendrix (softball)
• 2009 Theresa Hendrix (softball)
• 2008 Theresa Hendrix (softball)
• 2007 Dana Proscia (lacrosse)
• 2006 Dana Proscia (lacrosse)
• 2005 Meaghan Morris (track)
• 2004 Kate McLaughlin (track)

sports editor Michael Hoffer can be reached at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter: @foresports.

” Previous

Next ”